Texas Association of Specialty Courts

Justice Through Treatment

About TASC


The Texas Association of Specialty Courts (TASC) was founded to:

  • Increase local and statewide political, media and community awareness of the existence and success of drug courts;
  • Support legislation authorizing funding for the operation of drug courts;
  • Provide support for jurisdictions wanting to establish drug courts.


The Texas Association of Specialty Court Courts (TASC) builds and strengthens Texas specialty courts through collaboration, advocacy and education.


Drug Courts are special courts given the responsibility to handle cases involving chemically dependent offenders through an intensive supervision and treatment program. Based on an innovative program that was first developed in Miami in 1989, Drug Courts have received wide-spread attention as an effective treatment strategy for chemically dependent criminal offenders. Drug Courts attempt to solve some of the underlying problems leading to criminal behavior by forcing offenders to deal with their substance abuse problems. The design and structure of Drug Court programs are developed at the local level and reflect the unique strengths and needs of each community. Drug Court participants are subject to mandatory drug and alcohol testing and report frequently to the Judge and program staff. Drug Courts are not in adversarial relationships, rather all parties work together toward the long term sobriety of the participant - judges, treatment providers, probation officers, law enforcement officers and others.

  • Board Nominations are Open

    Board Nominations Information

    Candidacy Form

  • Board of Directors 2019 – 2020

    Executive Committee

    The Honorable B. Michael Chitty
    Kaufman County
    (972) 932-0257
    President Elect
    Hank Judin
    Defense Attorney
    Dallas County
    Vice President
    The Honorable Peter Sakai
    Bexar County
    Mary Covington
    Special Programs Manager
    Harris County
    Erin Morgan
    Senior Probation Officer
    Travis County CSCD
    (512) 854-5737

    Board of Directors

    Region 1
    Lesli R. Fitzpatrick
    Attorney at Law
    (512) 426-5993
    Region 2
    Elizabeth Cortright
    Attorney at Law
    Tarrant County
    (214) 679-6160
    Region 3
    The Honorable Jeff M. Addison
    Bowie & Red River Counties
    Region 4
    The Honorable John B. Board
    Potter County
    Region 5
    Faustino Lopez
    Deputy Director
    Hidalgo County
    (956) 587-6016
    Region 6
    The Honorable Paul White
    Angelina County
    (936) 639-3913
    Region 7
    Jose Montoya
    El Paso County
    (915) 373-3361
    Harris County
    Laura McCarty
    Harris County
    (832) 927-4331
    Bexar County
    The Honorable Ernie L. Glenn
    Bexar County
    Dallas County
    Kimberly Duran
    Program Clinician
    Dallas County
    (214) 653-3782
    At Large Place #1
    Shay Rustam
    Assistant County Attorney
    Montgomery County
    (936) 539-7828
    At Large Place #2
    Lori Compton
    Captain/Assistant Jail Administrator
    Kaufman County
    (972) 932-9721
    Executive Director
    Amber Gregory
    (936) 294-3916